Childcare Providers

 

About Our Sitters

Each is individually selected for their energy, creativity, compassion, enthusiasm and experience and are thoroughly screened to ensure your child’s safety.  Each provider has a minimum of (3) years of childcare experience and some have early childhood education backgrounds.  Our wide range of sitters means we have the perfect provider for each family, whether it is the experience necessary to care for an infant or a large group.

Below are bios.  We will be happy to provide more detailed information on your individual sitter during the reservation process.  You are welcome to request a particular provider although availability can not be guaranteed.

Maria Mandis

Owner, OBX Island Childcare

I have lived on the Outer Banks almost 12 years after having moved here with my family from Chesapeake, VA in 2007. My husband, Mike, and I have three wonderful children (ages 17, 20 and 21) and enjoy living in the town of Southern Shores. I am a teacher by trade and have worked with children of all ages most of my life. Spending summers at the beach, with friends and family, has been a wonderful experience. My hope is to make your summer visit just as amazing with our childcare service. Hobbies: working outdoors, spending time with family, and serving at church.

Monika

I was born and raised in the Czech Republic. In 2012, I moved to the Outer Banks. This island became myMonika Zitnik home. In the Czech Republic, I was taking care of my very young brother. When he was born, I was 17 so basically I was his second mom. I’m very comfortable with babies. From bathing, changing diapers, feeding to getting them to sleep. Also while I was in University in Czech, as a side job I babysat for years. I watched a 5 year old boy. We did after-school activities together including homework, reading and playing developing games. When I moved to the US, I met Kirsten and discovered this opportunity of babysitting here in the Outer Banks. Therefore, I’ve already worked for OBX Island Child Care and met so many amazing kids and babies. I’m very responsible and enthusiastic with children. I like to cook, read, and dance. I enjoy all kinds of sports activities – running, riding bikes, swimming, roller blading and tennis (even if I’m not good at it). I love babies and children for their pure happiness, smiles and love which they can spread. I don’t have a TV for that reason. I prefer to spend time with kids creatively which means for me playing around the house, team games, drawing, writing stories, reading and anything else children like to do. I’m open minded, sociable, and I just really like kids and time with them.

Tracy

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset

 

My name is Tracy and I am 21 years old. I have lived on the other banks my whole life and I am in love with the beach. I graduated high school in 2016 and completed cosmetology school in Wilmington, NC. My main hobbies are basketball, art, and photography. I have babysat since I was about ten because I have a younger brother and sister. I also would babysit family friends’ children. I think babysitting is a very fun job.

 

Morgan

Morgan GatesMy name is Morgan Gates, I am 21 years old and I have had the pleasure of living on the Outer Banks of North Carolina, Kill Devil Hills specifically, my entire life. After graduating from First Flight High in 2016, I moved to Boone, North Carolina to attend college and am currently spending the summer at home working as much as possible in-between semesters. Growing up an only child with busy local parents, I attended a home daycare and developed a close relationship with my caretaker while helping with the younger children. I love kids of all ages and am equally as comfortable with adults. As well as swimming competitively since I was 9, I have extensive knowledge of the beach and sound areas.

Camden

Hi! My name is Camden Crook and I am a rising senior at First Flight High School. I am 17 years old and have grown up on the Outer Banks. Some of my hobbies include playing soccer, swimming, and going to the beach. I compete in varsity soccer and swimming in school and am a member of the National Honor Society. Through soccer, I have coached many youth teams and have worked as a camp counselor for kids aged 3-11 for the past 3 summers. My mom is an elementary school teacher and I have always loved helping out in her classroom. I am CPR certified and understand the importance of my job. I can’t wait to meet you and your family!

Barbara (Bebe)

Hello, my name is Barbara but known here in the Outerbanks as Bebe.
I lived here from 2011-2017 but had to move back to Va to help out family. I come here when I can and love seeing repeat families. They have become part of my family too!
I have 2 grown children and 2 grandchildren that I love deeply.
My hobbies are photography, outdoor festivals/art shows and reading.
We welcome you and your family to the Outerbanks and enjoy your visit.

Laurette
Laurette

I have lived on the Outer Banks for 5 years now (my dream come true) but have been coming here for vacations my whole life! I’m originally from Pennsylvania. My husband Jim and I have 3 kids, 21, 14 and 13 years old. My daughter Shannon is my sitter assistant. I am an esthetician and love taking care of people’s skin! I also love taking care of children. I did childcare in Pa. for 6 years. I also volunteer with our church childcare . I would love to help take care of your children while you are here on your vacation!

Ashley

Hello! Welcome to the Outer Banks! My name is Ashley and i have lived in Currituck, NC for 21 years now! I have enjoyed living in a small town with the beach just a few minutes away. I am currently attending Appalachian State University to obtain my B.S. in social work. After that, I plan to get my master’s degree and specialize in pediatrics. I have had experience with children of all ages! I love working with children and have always had a natural connection with them. I look forward to meeting you and your child(ren)! Enjoy your vacation!

Libby

Libby

Hello, my name is Libby! I have lived on the Outer Banks for 14 years, having moved from Maryland. What used to be a family vacation spot has become my home and I am so thankful for the opportunity to live here. I am currently attending North Carolina State University, studying Global Relations. I have been babysitting for six years and have experience with ages as young as four months. Before attending university, I coached youth soccer teams (ages 4-6) for three years. It is of utmost importance that kids stay safe and have fun while they are in my care. I am CPR and First Aid certified. My hobbies include running, hiking and reading. I can’t wait to meet you and your kid(s)!

Allissa

image1

Hello, My name is Allissa. I have lived on the Outer Banks for about 8 years now, and it has been an honor to grow up in such an amazing place. I remember visiting the beach when I was younger and those are memories I will never forget. Getting the chance to watch your children while you go out will give the children and I the perfect chance to bond. I will make sure that they have as much fun as they can with the time I get to spend with them. I’ve grown up around younger kids, so taking care of them when they’re sick, sad, happy, etc. comes naturally to me. Thank you for choosing OBXIC as your child-care service, you’ve got my promise on receiving the best quality child-care here on the beach!!

Kristen

Hello! My name is Kristen and I have lived on the Outer Banks my entire life! I am 23 years old and I am a recent graduate of UNC Pembroke. GO BRAVES! I received a B.S. in Elementary Education with a concentration in Special Education and I have experience working with children under five years old as well. I love working with and educating children inside and outside the classroom! Also, I love nature, music, and animals. Enjoy your vacation on the Outer Banks!

Ellen

Ellen

I’ve lived on the Outer Banks for over 30 years. I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather live. I have 7 grandchildren and several great-grandchildren but I’m a young great-grandmother. I retired from the North Carolina DOJ as a processing assistant. I am happily enjoying my children and my church. I serve in the nursery every Sunday. I have also cared for several children from ages 6 months until they outgrew my help. I’m thankful for my family and church family. I feel that children visiting the OBX deserve a caring and safe environment. I will be happy to serve your family while you’re here.  Hobbies: the beach, fishing, billiards and my grandchildren/great-grandchildren.

 

Leah

My name is Leah and I have been on the OBX since I was 6 years old. My mom is excited about the bLeah Mandisusiness and I am just as excited that I get to help her. I love playing with kids and doing fun activities with them. I will be an assistant for you if you need someone to entertain  your kids. I have completed my Associates degree and will be attending Regent University in the fall. Hobbies: crafts, surfing, playing piano, taking voice lessons, swimming and hanging out with family and friends …at the beach of course!